Skip to main content

Add a scene (before Release 5)

Once you've created your story, you can start adding scenes.

Before Release 5: This article is for organisations that haven't moved to Release 5 yet. On Release 5, your scenes are on the left and the settings on the right: see Working with scenes.

Create a scene

By default, an empty scene is created. This is your first scene. You can start adding backgrounds and media or text assets.

If you want to add another scene click on the plus sign in the scene list.

Add new scene

  1. Click on 'Add new scene'

  2. Click on Settings icon in the right context panel

    1. Fill in the Title

    2. Description

    3. Auto Switch; the scene will automatically switch to the next scene when your background video is done playing.

    4. Screensaver; this scene will automatically start after # seconds of inactivity. You can wake up your story by interacting with the screen via physical triggers, sensors, touching the screen or pressing a key on the Control Application. This will reset the story.

Add saved scene

  1. Click on Insert saved scene.

  2. You can reuse scenes that you've saved to my scenes.

  3. Select the scene that you want to add.

  4. Choose the scaling strategy in the popup if needed, read more here.

  5. Click on add.

Scene list

Saving a scene

If you want to reuse your scene in a different story you can save it to your scenes. You can do this by clicking on the 3 dots in the scene tile in the scene list and click on save.

Saving a scene from a collaborated story

In a shared story, assets remain exclusively with the story owner and are never transferred to collaborators. While a collaborator can save a scene from the shared story, the assets within that scene are not copied to their media library. Both the collaborator and the owner can independently modify their versions of the saved scene, and changes made by one do not affect the other. However, if the story owner removes an asset from their media library, any saved scenes using that asset will be impacted—resulting in the asset no longer being visible.

In summary, repositioning or removing assets within a scene does not affect other saved scenes, but deleting an asset from the media library does.

Set order of your scenes

To determine the correct order of the scenes you can easily drag and drop them.

Deleting a scene

Deleting a scene is as easy as clicking on the 3 dots in the scene tile and click on the trash can. Or just press delete/backspace.

There is a limit of 100 scenes per story with a maximum of 75 assets per scene. This is to limit performance issues that may arise when using a lot of content.

Did this answer your question?