User Roles
Within TSS Compose we support a variety of user roles which can be used to customize each individual CMS environment. The user roles are:
Users
Users are your regular base level role which are able to:
Upload media to their Personal Library
Browse and use media from the Company Library in their stories
Create stories
View backgrounds
Users cannot add or edit media in the Company Library by default. Admins can grant this permission to all user types via the Permissions tab in Settings.
Super users
Super users are the next tier of user role and are able to do the following:
Everything a User can do +
Add/edit backgrounds
Upload media to the Company Library
Move media from Personal Library to the Company Library
Manage the Company Library
Administrators
Administrators or admins for short is an advanced user role reserved for people who control and manage the CMS environment. These users are able to do the following:
Everything a Super user can do +
Set stories as a template
Add/edit users & guest domains
Edit default editor settings
Manage permissions via the Permissions tab in Settings
Transfer story ownership and delete stories via Story Management
Permissions
Administrators can manage feature permissions from a centralised Permissions tab in Settings. This page gives admins control over which user roles are allowed to perform specific actions across the platform.
Accessing the Permissions page
Navigate to
SettingsClick on the
Permissionstab
Available permissions
The Permissions page currently includes the following settings:
Company Library edit rights
Controls which user roles are allowed to upload- and move personal media into the Company Library.
Default: Admins and Super Users can upload and move media to the Company Library.
Optional: Admins can enable this permission for all user types, so that regular users have permission to upload and move media to the Company Library.
Publishing permissions
Controls which user roles are allowed to publish stories.
If you previously configured publishing permissions in Editor Settings, your settings have been automatically migrated to the new Permissions tab. No action is needed.
Adding users & Self-Signup
In the Users page overview you can add, edit or delete users. This is possible in two different ways. First navigate to Settings > Users & Domains. Then click on add user in the top right corner.
Manually create a user
Fill in the information for the account. Note: everything can be changed afterwards except the email address.
Set up a password.
Set the user role(s)
Click on
active.Savethe new profile.Share the credentials with the desired contact.
Create self sign up link
a. Add your company domain (example @purple.com, @storytellingcompany.com)
- adding more domains is allowed; separate them by a comma.
- We accept domains with 18 characters after the dot (.) like .nl, .com, .net, .organization etc.b. Copy and share the self-sign up link
c. Your colleagues can fill in their personal information themselves and verify their account.
A user will always automatically receive the User role; if they require more access this needs to be adjusted manually after they have created their account.
You can add additional domains later without having to generate a new link. You can also generate a new link to invalidate old links if required by clicking on the "regenerate" button, this will disable the old links.
Account Confirmation
To use TSS Compose, a user has to verify their email. This can be done by clicking the button in the verification email that is sent to the attached email address. Admins can resend confirmation emails to users who aren't verified yet.
Locked out of account
If someone is locked out of their account an admin can reset the password for that user in the account settings, this will send an email through which that user can set a new password.

